more from
Polyvinyl Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Nothing's Changed

by Justus Proffit & Jay Som

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Nothing's Changed via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $13 USD


I've chewed it up Spit it out we've given up Still I climb to reach the top I feel the same Nothing's new Nothing's changed You can sit around Waking up to lay back down While my head is in the clouds You call my name Nothing's new Nothing's changed Days turn to night Cut the silence with a knife Let it echo all your life and now it's gone Nothing's new Nothing's changed
My world is a toy And I feel tall A hit to the head Now my world's small Put it in your pocket Leave it alone Dancing in the doldrums Safe in your home My world my rules Through the back I'm coming loose I'll be alone Safe in my shell No one can hurt me in my personal hell Back on the wall Hand by my back Feet on the ground Fleeting attack
You were clean You were calm Standing in the doorway Singing afterthoughts You count your blessings in the dark Expelling words above you To keep when we wake up I press the hand upon my chest Distorting into one Returning back to Earth A love enormous and enough Pacing to ignore How it begins and how it ends
I'm making amends Invisible friends I'm scoping you Fill the echo inside Inside of my mind Kill whatever you find Making new enemies I'm stuck in a maze I'm happy alone Slipping into the blue A better part of you We can't pick or choose You will play the fool Picking up where I left Visions of death But there's light in my eyes Maybe go for a ride I drive and I drive See you on my side Staring on the TV What do you see? It looks like me
Grow 02:10
You create the scene Find a need to breathe and grow Little kid you need some time to be alone Ask me for a favor Are you dizzy are you weak? I can be the one to tell you You're asleep I don't mind I feel fine Don't ask me why I feel fine I just want to waste Waste your time Trouble me Fall behind


There’s a little bit of everything -- garage rock, country twang, art pop -- on the five songs that comprise Nothing’s Changed, a record showcasing the burgeoning collaboration between Justus Proffit and Jay Som.

Following the release of her debut full-length as Jay Som (2017’s Everybody Works -- an album that landed on just about every “Best of” list imaginable) multi-instrumentalist Melina Duterte re-located from California’s Bay Area to Los Angeles, where she soon found a kindred spirit in rising singer-songwriter Justus Proffit.

Though they had never played together before, when Proffit heard Duterte had moved to town, he reached out to see if she wanted to record a track for fun.

With no real serious intentions, the two began by taking a riff, melody, or drum beat and then building around it whatever impulsive idea came to mind. Quickly, though, these ideas began to snowball, and before long the pair had several finished tracks that they were eager to share.

Having recorded all her own material to-date, Duterte oversaw tracking and mixing in her home studio (in addition to playing bass and keyboard), while Proffit handled lyrics and drums. Together, they shared guitar and vocal duties.

Says Duterte, “I think we both challenged each other with each song, forcing ourselves to either stick to an idea or move on, and accept mistakes.”


released September 28, 2018


all rights reserved



Jay Som Los Angeles, California

Melina Duterte:


North American/South American/Australian Booking:

EU Booking:
... more

contact / help

Contact Jay Som

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nothing's Changed, you may also like: